Loewe Craft Prize 2019 – Announcement

The third edition of the international award. Submissions for 2019 will be accepted until 31 October 2018.

The 2018 edition of the prize received close to 1,900 submissions from a total of 86 countries across the globe; potential candidates for this year’s edition are invited to study the guidelines and submit work at loewecraftprize.com.

Jennifer Lee, Loewe Craft Prize

Jennifer Lee from Great Britain won the Loewe Craft Prize in 2018 and 50,000 euros

The first edition of the Loewe craft prize was launched by the loewe foundation in 2016 to showcase and celebrate excellence, artistic merit and newness in modern craftsmanship. It seeks to acknowledge and support international artisans of any age (over 18) or gender who demonstrate an exceptional ability to create objects of superior aesthetic value, with the winner receiving 50,000 Euros in cash.

The award, which was conceived by creative director Jonathan Anderson, aims to acknowledge the importance of craft in today’s culture and recognise working artisans whose talent, vision and will to innovate set a standard for the future.

The incentive for the prize goes back to Loewe’s beginnings as a collective craft workshop in 1846. Jonathan Anderson states ‘Now in its third year, I am incredibly proud of the part the Loewe Craft Prize has had to play in elevating the critical reception of craft and its ability to bring beautiful objects to an international audience. It has been awe-inspiring to see exceptional work from artisans around the globe being entered year on year and an honour to exhibit their work.’

Marie Janssen

Out of 1.900 applicants Marie Janssen from Vienna reached the short list of 30 artists

Adi Toch

Adi Toch, GB, was one of the few jewelry artists who reached the final selection

The Judging Procedure

An experts panel composed of artists, artisans, essayists, curators and designers will consider all submitted works in order to select a shortlist of up to 30 submissions. Their choice will be based on a number of key criteria: originality, clear artistic vision and merit, precise execution, material excellence, innovative value and a distinct authorial mark.

These shortlisted works will then form the basis of an exhibition due to go on display in Tokyo from which the Prize’s Jury will select the winning piece. The winner of the Loewe Craft Prize this year, British ceramicist Jennifer Lee, was announced on 3 May 2018 by Helen Mirren during the opening ceremonies of the Loewe Craft Prize 2018 exhibition at the Design Museum, London. See https://artaurea.com/2018/jennifer-lee-wins-loewe-craft-prize-2018/The winner of the Loewe Craft Prize 2019 will be announced in Japan in Spring 2019.

The Loewe Craft Prize Experts Panel 2019:

Paula Aza, Loewe Head of Architecture
Antonia Boström, Director of Collections at the Victoria & Albert Museum, London
Min Chen, furniture designer
Sara Flynn, ceramicist
Joonyong Kim, glass artist
Krzysztof Lukasik, Loewe accessories designer
Ramón Puig Cuyàs, jewelry artist
Adi Toch, metal artist
Anatxu Zabalbeascoa, architecture and design correspondent for El País

The Loewe Craft Prize Jury for 2019:

Jonathan Anderson, Loewe Creative Director
Naoto Fukasawa, designer and Director of the Japan Folk Crafts Museum
Hong-Nam Kim, President of the National Trust of Korea
Jennifer Lee, Winner of the Loewe Craft Prize 2018
Enrique Loewe, Loewe Foundation Honorary President
Wolfgang Lösche, Head of Exhibition and Fairs at the Chamber of Skilled Trades, Munich
Wang Shu, architect and Pritzker Prize jury member
Deyan Sudjic, essayist and Director of Design Museum, London
Benedetta Tagliabue, architect and Pritzker Prize jury member
Patricia Urquiola, architect and industrial designer
Anatxu Zabalbeascoa, architecture and design correspondent for El País

Further informations




  • Link