Loewe Craft Prize 2023

The new call for entries with New York as its destination.

The LOEWE FOUNDATION’s Craft Prize 2023 will be awarded in New York next spring and will be presented with an exhibition of the winners and finalists. Entries to the sixth edition of the prize will be accepted until 25 October 2022.

The 2022 edition of the prize received over 3,100 total submissions from 115 countries and regions across the globe; potential candidates for next year’s edition are invited to submit work at loewecraftprize.com.

The LOEWE FOUNDATION Craft Prize was launched in 2016 to showcase and celebrate excellence, artistic merit and originality in modern craftsmanship. It seeks to acknowledge and support international artists who demonstrate an exceptional ability to create objects of superior aesthetic value, with the winner receiving 50,000 Euros.

Dahye Jeong

The 2022 winner. Dahye Jeong, Republic of Korea A Time of Sincerity, 2021. Horsehair, 37.5 x 29 x 27 cm.
© Loewe Craft Prize.

The award, which was conceived by LOEWE’s creative director Jonathan Anderson, aims to acknowledge the importance of craft in today’s culture and to recognise working artists whose talent, vision and will to innovate set a standard for the future. The incentive for the prize goes back to LOEWE’s beginnings as a collective craft workshop in 1846.

Jonathan Anderson states: ‘craft is always going to be modern. It is about creating objects that have a formula of their own and speak their own language, creating a dialogue that didn’t exist before. It is about newness as much as it is about tradition.’

An expert panel composed of artists, artists, essayists, curators and designers will consider all submitted works in order to select a shortlist of up to 30 submissions. New additions to the expert panel this year include, Andile Dyalvane (ceramist and finalist of the Craft Prize 2022), Myungtaek Jung (furniture artist and finalist of the Craft Prize 2022), Wolfgang Lösche (Head of Exhibition and Fairs at the Chamber of Skilled Trades, Munich) and Mary Savig (Curator of Craft at the Smithsonian American Art Museum Renwick Gallery, Washington, D.C.). The panel’s choice will be based on a number of key criteria: originality, clear artistic vision and merit, precise execution, material excellence, innovative value and a distinct authorial mark.

The shortlisted works will then form the basis of an exhibition due to go on display in New York, United States from which the Prize’s Jury will select the winning piece. The newest member of the 2023 Jury is Dahye Jeong, the winner of the LOEWE FOUNDATION Craft Prize 2022. Jeong was announced as the winner of this year’s prize on 30 June 2022, coinciding with the opening of the exhibition of the LOEWE FOUNDATION Craft Prize 2022 at the Seoul Museum of Craft Art and digitally on https://craftprizeexhibition.loewe.com.

The winner of the LOEWE FOUNDATION Craft Prize 2023 will be announced in New York in spring 2023.

Julia Obermaier, Loewe Foundation

Julia Obermaier, Germany, received 2022 an award for her jewelry Verborgen [Hidden], 2021.
Rock crystal, resin, pigment and stainless steel, various dimensions.

Andile Dyalvane, Loewe Foundation

Also awarded 2022: Andile Dyalvane, South Africa, Cornish Wall, 2019. Glazed stoneware, 34 x 34 x 45 cm.
© Loewe Craft Prize.

Expert Panel

Paula Aza, LOEWE Director of Architecture and Visual Merchandising.

Antonia Boström, Director of Collections at the Victoria & Albert Museum, London.

Hyeyoung Cho, Secretary General at the Korea Craft and Design Foundation.

Andile Dyalvane, ceramist and finalist of the Craft Prize 2022.

Sara Flynn, ceramist and finalist of the LOEWE FOUNDATION Craft Prize 2017.

Myungtaek Jung, furniture artist and finalist of the LOEWE FOUNDATION Craft Prize 2022.

Wolfgang Lösche, Head of Exhibition and Fairs at the Chamber of Skilled Trades, Munich.

Juha Marttila, LOEWE Leather Goods Design Director.

Mary Savig, Curator of Craft at the Smithsonian American Art Museum Renwick Gallery, Washington, D.C.

Anatxu Zabalbeascoa (Executive Secretary), architecture and design correspondent for El País.


Jonathan Anderson, LOEWE Creative Director.

Naoto Fukasawa, designer and Director of the Japan Folk Crafts Museum, Tokyo.

Olivier Gabet, Director of the Art Department at the Louvre Museum, Paris

Dahye Jeong, Winner of the LOEWE FOUNDATION Craft Prize 2022.

Hongnam Kim, Former Director of the National Museum of Korea.

Enrique Loewe, LOEWE FOUNDATION Honorary President.

Magdalene Odundo, ceramicist.

Wang Shu, architect and Pritzker Prize winner.

Deyan Sudjic, essayist and Director Emeritus of the Design Museum, London.

Benedetta Tagliabue, architect and RIBA Stirling Prize winner.

Abraham Thomas, Curator of Modern Architecture, Design, and Decorative Arts at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York.

Patricia Urquiola, architect and industrial designer.

Anatxu Zabalbeascoa (Chairwoman), architecture and design correspondent for El País.

Read also the detailed article about the Loewe Craft Prize 2022, part 1, in the current print issue of Art Aurea 49. We present the prize winner, the honorees as well as other artists and their works that made it to the final selection and the exhibition in Seoul. loewecraftprize.com

  • Link